PharmaTutor Magazine - May 2016 is released | Subscribe today

 

Magazine Home


<< BACK TO LATEST ISSUES

PURCHASE PRINTED MAGAZINE >>

May 2016

 

Central Drugs Standards Control Organization may introduce Vegetable capsules in India. They have received a proposal to replace gelatin capsules with vegetable capsules. The vegetable capsules are made up of cellulose.

Gelatin, a form of hydrolyzed collagen, proteins and amino acids, comes from the boiled skin, tendons and ligaments of animals. Side effects are not common but possible. Few have allergic effects due to gelatin. Kidney and live functioning may also be affected.

Another factor to consider when choosing between gelatin and vegetarian capsules is what they are going to be filled with. Gelatin capsules are only suitable for use with powdered medications or supplements. Liquids and various other materials such as gels are not compatible with capsules made of gelatin but they are suitable with cellulose based capsules.

One of the most obvious advantages of using cellulose based or vegetarian capsules is that they are not made with animal byproducts. This distinct characteristic allows them to be suitable for individuals who choose not to consume products sourced from animals. In country like India, they are also more acceptable for religious reasons as well.

Like gelatin, these capsules are also available in various colors and sizes, and are more flexible in their application. Cellulose is the preferred capsule base for substances that have more of a semi solid or gel composition.

Unlike gelatin, vegetarian capsules have no known potential health risks, even when consumed in a long term scenario as they are 100% natural and nontoxic.

Write us your feedback which we may publish in our forthcoming issue.

READ ONLINE | E-MAGAZINE

SUBSCRIBE FOR PRINTED MAGAZINE

DOWNLOAD SCHOLARLY ARTICLES SEPARATELY